Food / Vegan

Tangy Kale Chips

It seems that a lot of bloggers have shared their version of kale chips. I was not planning to add to the long list of recipe options, since I am sure there are only so many ways you can make them. But Sunday afternoon I just thought to myself “why not?” as I pulled a nice pan of kale chips from the oven. I was inspired by a fellow blogger not long ago, so why not share some of that inspiration? I had never tried kale chips before, but when I tried making some a couple of weeks ago I was an instant convert. I now love kale chips! Whatever you call them – side dish, snack, appetizer – I’m hooked!

So, here is my contribution to the bloggers’ list of this yummy food. Mine seem to have a tangy flavor.

Tangy Kale Chips

1. Grab a bunch of kale, however much you want to make. I usually fill a cookie sheet for me and my husband. That makes a big handful of kale chips for each of us.

2. Wash and drain.

3. Divide the kale leaves into “bite sized” pieces and spread them on a baking pan.

4. Make topping. Here is my version:
2 T olive oil
2 T lemon juice
salt to taste (pinch or 1/8 teaspoon)
garlic salt to taste (between 1/8 and 1/4 teaspoon)

5. Mix the olive oil, lemon juice, salt and garlic salt together. The oil will not mix with the lemon juice well, so you can seal it in a spill proof container and shake it, or just stir it vigorously for a minute or two until all ingredients are well blended. Right away, drizzle the mixture over the kale.

6. Bake it at 300º F for 5 minutes, turn the pieces over, then check it every 3 minutes until it becomes mostly dry and crispy.

Be careful not to let it burn. You have to watch it carefully when it is almost done and take it out when crispy. If needed, you can reduce the heat to 250º or 200º F after the first 5 minutes.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

