Sharing About God

Testimony of God’s Helping Hand

Sharing A Testimony

There are few things as powerful as a testimony of how God has helped someone, so I want to share a testimony with you today. Part of it just happened yesterday … but the story began a bit more than a month ago.

Car Troubles

A little over a month ago my husband and I had some intermittent car troubles. The car was not starting every time, but each time someone would give us a jump-start it would be okay for a little while longer. When it first happened we thought maybe it was a one time thing. Then it happened again … and again. By then we decided it was not just an odd happenstance, so we took it to the mechanic, who put in a new starter.

The car worked great again for a month, but then a week ago it left me and a friend stranded in town, 20 miles from home, about an hour before sunset. Two nice men tried to help jump-start the car but it stubbornly refused to start. No auto shops were open at that hour so I didn’t know what to do other than pray. Finally God gave me the thought to call my insurance company, and by God’s grace my policy covered a tow home at no expense to me. I hadn’t known that I had roadside coverage, so that was a big blessing… worth between 200 and 300 dollars.

The car sat, crippled, last week, while my husband and I had to tend to other things of life. He had a work project deadline and I was trying to get caught up on things around the house after finally getting some architectural drawings done for a client. Neither of us knew what was best to do with the car anyway, and we wanted to pray about it a little more. In the meantime, a couple from church offered to let us borrow their car. That was another blessing from God.

That same week my husband got an unexpected call to travel for work, which became top priority on Thursday and Friday. The weekend passed, and the car still sat. Monday morning I just didn’t know what to do about the car. Although I know a little about cars, this situation was a new one for me, so I felt helpless. As I made some phone calls, the options I was considering either loomed with great expense or were not working out well. Again I prayed that God would send help or send someone with an idea. I then proceeded to look under the hood of the car in an attempt to do something that the mechanic suggested, but couldn’t find the starter. I came in the house to look for information and diagrams of the car on the internet, hoping that I could learn where the starter is.

An Answer to Prayer

As I went back outside I noticed that some friends from church had pulled up. They had seen the car hood up and stopped to see if they could help. After making a few failed attempts to jump-start the car, one of my friends noticed the battery cable had some corrosion on it. “That could be the problem,” he said, and offered to fix it. After the battery charged a little from the jump-start, the car finally started. Within an hour my friend had the cable fixed.

Blessings Recounted

1. Towing cost was covered by the insurance.

2. Friends let us borrow their car for a few days.

3. The Lord answered my prayer by directing some friends to help find the problem and fix it.

4. The solution was inexpensive and fast to fix.

Needless to say, for the rest of Monday I had a feeling of awe and deep thankfulness to God for how He worked things out. My faith in God had been tested, but as I went forward asking for His help and believing that He would work all things out according to His purpose, I felt assured and was rewarded.

This experience reminds me of James 1:2-6

2 My brethren, count it all joy when ye fall into divers temptations;

3 Knowing this, that the trying of your faith worketh patience.

4 But let patience have her perfect work, that ye may be perfect and entire, wanting nothing.

5 If any of you lack wisdom, let him ask of God, that giveth to all men liberally, and upbraideth not; and it shall be given him.

6 But let him ask in faith, nothing wavering. For he that wavereth is like a wave of the sea driven with the wind and tossed.

A Spiritual Lesson

One more blessing came from this experience …a good spiritual lesson. The corroding battery cable reminds me of my need for soul maintenance. The corrosion is like those things that get in the way of my connection with God, my source of strength. The corrosion in the cable was preventing battery power from getting to the starter, so the cable had to be cut back to the point where there was no corrosion. Each day I need a clean, vitalizing connection to the source of strength and power. I can do that by making adequate time for prayer and Bible study. Having a vital connection also means I have to invite God to help me cut back the selfishness of my human heart, so that I can serve Him in the way He wants me to.

Leave a Reply

