Food / Vegan

Vegan Key Lime Pie

I found a really great and easy recipe from another blogger. It is really good. My husband has commented alot on how good it is… and I agree. The surprise is that it is made from Avocado. Really, you don’t taste the avocado!

Go to the Edgy Veg blog either by clicking on this link: Raw Vegan Avocado Key Lime Pie Recipe

or go to http://theedgyveg.com/2013/03/29/raw-vegan-avocado-key-lime-pie-recipe/

This is my attempt… it is a little frosty from being in the freezer. I recommend allowing it to thaw 10-15 minutes before cutting and serving.

KeyLimePie

It is rare that I find a recipe and don’t think it needs to be changed. This is a good one. I wouldn’t change it. The only variations I made were a result of not having certain ingredients. I didn’t have lime zest, so used lemon. I didn’t have vanilla bean, so emitted that ingredient. I did not have coconut oil so used coconut milk instead. I’m sure you can also use coconut cream. I didn’t have a 6 inch springform pan, so used a regular sized glass pie dish.

For the ingredient choices:

I used 2 large avocados. I think that smaller avocados or less quantity would lend to a stronger lime flavor, but it was good with two large.

I used both walnuts and almonds in the crust.

I used agave nectar

Great recipe Edgy Veg! Thanks for sharing.

 

Here is her original recipe:

Crust

1 cup dried unsweetened shredded coconut

1 cup dry walnuts, or almonds (not soaked)

4-6 medjool dates

Pinch of Himalayan rock salt

Place the coconut, walnuts and salt in a food processer and process until your walnuts are broken down, and slightly chunky.

Add dates one at a time while pulsing until the mixture starts to come together when squeezed.  You should be able to see small flecks of dates.

Press into the bottom and up the sides of a 6 inch springform pan, greased with coconut oil.

Place in the freezer to set, and prepare your filling.

 

Filling

1 1/2 -2  avocados

1 1/2 cups soaked cashews (drained, and rinsed)

1/4 cup lime juice

2 tbsp  lime zest

1/3 cup agave nectar or maple syrup

1/4 tsp sea salt

2 tsp pure vanilla extract

½  a vanilla bean, seeds scraped

1/4 cup coconut oil , liquefied

Combine avocado, cashews, lime juice and zest, sweetener, salt, and vanilla in a food processor or high speed blender and process until smooth, about 2 minutes.

On a lower setting, slowly add the coconut oil and process for another minute.

Pour the filling into the crust, and place in the freezer to firm up, about 2- 3 hours.

Leave a Reply

