Food / Vegan

Easy Vegan Pesto

I love pesto, but vegan pesto is nearly impossible to find where I live, so I was really happy to come across this recipe. As always I have adapted it slightly for my taste. I don’t know where I got it, but I had clipped it from a magazine several years ago. I hadn’t tried it until about a year ago, because I never had fresh basil. But last year and this year I grew some in my little “pot garden” on my front porch.

This year I have been growing Purple Petra Basil, which is a rich purple color. It makes a great pesto!

Purple Petra Basil

This recipe is so easy I can hardly believe it! I think that fresh basil and the roasted almonds are the secret to making this one awaken your taste buds.

Ingredients:

3 cloves garlic (medium or large)

1 ½ c fresh basil leaves

1/2 c olive oil

1/4 c almonds, raw and unsalted

pinch ground nutmeg or corriander

pinch of salt

 

Instructions:

Preheat oven or toaster oven to 450º F. Bake almonds on flat sheet pan for 8-10 minutes or until lightly toasted. In food processor combine all ingredients and process until it makes a course paste.

Leave a Reply

