Health / Natural Remedies

Natural Remedy – Neti Pot

I haven’t had a lot of opportunities to use the Neti Pot, since I don’t get sick much, but I believe it is a help for certain health challenges. The first experience I had with sinus irrigation was bad, only because I did not have the right equipment and I really didn’t know what I was doing. I ended up getting a sinus infection. But from that I learned how to do it right.

It really is not difficult to use a Neti pot, and it can bring good relieve for nasal symptoms related to allergies, colds, and flu. I haven’t tried it for allergies, but have heard it helps. I have used it to clear out a stuffy head and nose with the flu. It brings temporary relief and helps the nasal passages to heal faster.

Here is my little irrigation pot. It is a good size, and holds about a cup of liquid. I like that it is easy to clean.

Neti Pot

My recommendations and cautions are these:

1. Purchase only a clean sinus irrigation pot that has never been used for any other purpose.

2. Make sure you store the Neti pot in a clean container (box or bag), and clean it well before and after each use.

3. Use non-iodized salt.

4. Always boil the water for a few minutes before use, to kill any bacteria in the water. You cannot be too careful to avoid getting infections in your head and sinuses.

salt01

Directions: A Neti pot should come with instructions, but here is what I do…

1. Clean the Neti pot with soap, rinse well with water, and allow to air dry if possible.

2. Boil 1-2 cups of water for a couple of minutes, then allow to cool until the temperature is lukewarm to slightly warm. It shouldn’t feel hot if you touch your wrist to the water. You don’t want to burn the delicate tissues in your sinuses and nose.

3. Add 1/4 teaspoon of non-iodized salt per cup of water and stir until dissolved. If the salt water stings a little while irrigating, add a little more salt.

4. Irrigate through the nose and sinus passages, allowing the water to flow freely.

5. Repeat if necessary, or as symptoms return.

Leave a Reply

