Food

Jicama

I am not sure how well known Jicama is in various parts of the world. I never heard of such a thing until a few years ago when my husband introduced me to it.

The jicama is a brown root vegetable, and looks a little like a stubby round sweet potato. It tastes nothing like a sweet potato however. It is a little starchy, with a consistency similar to an apple. It is also a little sweet. My best description is that it is like crossing an apple with a potato. But that is not quite accurate. You just have to try it to know the flavor.

I have not done much experimentation with the Jicama, but apparently you can cook it or use it in various ways. The way I usually eat it is the simplest way… raw. That is certainly the healthiest way. I simply peel it, cut it up, and enjoy.

If you haven’t tried it, I recommend that you give it a try. Many larger grocery stores have it where I live, such as Walmart and Kroger. I’m sure others do too. Usually I buy one that is medium size, not too big or too small. I look for one that seems firm with fresh looking skin.

jicama02

Leave a comment